Daylight Saving Time in Canada

In most of Canada Daylight Saving Time begins at 2:00 a.m. local time on the second Sunday in March. On the first Sunday in November areas on Daylight Saving Time return to Standard Time at 2:00 a.m. local time. When Daylight Saving Time begins in Canada turn your clocks ahead one hour. At the end of Daylight Saving Time turn your clocks back one hour.

Canada change clocks for daylight saving time

Canada Daylight Saving Time Start and End Dates

Year DST Begins at 2 a.m. DST Ends at 2 a.m.
2024 March 10 November 3
2025 March 9 November 2
2026 March 8 November 1

Previous Years Start and End Dates

Year DST Begins at 2 a.m. DST Ends at 2 a.m.
2023 March 12 November 5
2022 March 13 November 6
2021 March 14 November 7
2020 March 8 November 1
2019 March 10 November 3
2018 March 11 November 4
2017 March 12 November 5
2016 March 13 November 6
2015 March 08 November 1
2014 March 09 November 2
2013 March 10 November 3
2012 March 11 November 4
2011 March 13 November 6
2010 March 14 November 7
2009 March 08 November 1

The names and abbreviations frequently used to indicate the current local time in each time zone change along with Daylight Saving Time. Eastern Standard Time (EST) becomes Eastern Daylight Time (EDT), and so forth.

Some areas of Canada not using Daylight Saving Time include, Fort St. John, Charlie Lake, Taylor and Dawson Creek in British Columbia, Creston in the East Kootenays, and most of Saskatchewan (except Denare Beach and Creighton).

The government of Yukon Territories has announced that after adjusting clocks forward for Daylight Saving Time in 2020 Yukon Territories will remain on Pacific Daylight Saving Time or the equivalent UTC-7h Mountain Standard Time all year round.

In 2011 Newfoundland and Labrador proclaimed an amendment to the Standard Time Act which puts their observance of Daylight Saving Time in line with the rest of Canada effective November 6, 2011. Previously, Newfoundland and Labrador began and ended Daylight Saving Time one minute after midnight (12:01 a.m.) local time.

Previously, Canada had observed Daylight Saving Time from the first Sunday in April until the last Sunday in October. However, through legislation passed in 2006, Daylight Saving Time now begins three weeks earlier on the second Sunday in March and ends on the first Sunday in November.

This change in Daylight Saving Time kept Canada's Daylight Saving Time pattern consistent with the United States which enacted into law a broad energy bill that extended Daylight Saving Time in the same manner.


All dates are shown in the format: month/day/year

About US | Terms of Use | Privacy | Contact

The information contained on this page is subject to our Terms of Use.

Site Copyright © 2000-2024, Inc.