Coordinated Universal Time and Greenwich Mean Time in Canada

Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) is used as the official world reference for time. Coordinated Universal Time replaced the use of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) in 1972. You will often see time zones represented similar to UTC - 5h or GMT - 5h. In this example the (-5h) refers to that time zone being five hours behind UTC or GMT and so forth for the other time zones. UTC+5h or GMT +5h would refer to that time zone being five hours ahead of UTC of GMT and so forth for the other time zones.

The usage of UTC and GMT is based upon a twenty four hour clock, similar to military time, and is based upon the 0° longitude meridian, referred to as the Greenwich meridian in Greenwich, England.

In areas of Canada that observe Daylight Saving Time local residents will move their clocks ahead one hour ahead when Daylight Saving Time begins. As a result, their UTC offset would change from UTC - 5h to UTC - 4 hrs

Canada uses six primary time zones. From east to west they are Newfoundland Time Zone, Atlantic Time Zone, Eastern Time, Central Time Zone, Mountain Time Zone, and the Pacific Time Zone. The table below shows the GMT offsets for each of these zones.

Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) Greenwich Mean Time (GMT)
04:13 AM
04:13 AM

Canada GMT/UTC Offsets

Time Zones in Canada Examples of places in Canada using these Time Zones UTC Offset
Standard Time
UTC Offset
Daylight Saving Time
Newfoundland Newfoundland and Labrador between L'Anse au Clair and Norman Bay UTC - 3h30m UTC - 2h30m

Labrador, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Part of Quebec near the eastern shore. Areas in Quebec east of 63 ° west longitude do not observe daylight saving time.

UTC - 4h UTC - 3h

Most of Nunavut, most of Ontario, most of Quebec

UTC - 5h UTC - 4h

The areas of Ontario, west of 90° west longitude, Manitoba, Saskatchewan except for Lloydminster. The portion of Saskatchwan in the Central Time Zone does not observe Daylight Saving Time.

UTC - 6h UTC - 5h

Alberta, part of British Columbia, North West Territories, Lloydminster in Saskatchewan

UTC - 7h UTC - 6h

British Columbia, Yukon

UTC - 8h UTC - 7h

All dates are shown in the format: month/day/year
Find an incorrect time or time zone? Please contact us., Inc. is not responsible for any damages or problems caused by this service.
The information contained on this page is not authoritative and its use is subject to our Terms of Use.
We respect your privacy. You may view our privacy policy here

Site Copyright © 2000-2018, Inc.