AUSTRALIA TIME ZONES - AUSTRALIA CURRENT TIME

Most of Australia uses three standard time zones, Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) which is UTC/GMT+10, Australian Central Standard Time (ACST) which is UTC/GMT + 9 1/2 and Australian Western Time (ASWT) which is UTC/GMT +8.

Although most of New South Wales observes Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST), which is UTC/GMT+10, the two communities of Broken Hill and Lord Howe Island are exceptions. Broken Hill observes Australian Central Standard Time (ACST) which is UTC/GMT + 9 1/2 and Lord Howe Island observes UTC/GMT + 10 1/2.

A total of nine distinct time zones are used by Australia and their external territories.

(UTC/GMT +5) Mawson Station Time Zone and Heard and McDonald Islands Time Zone. (UTC/GMT + 6:30) Cocos Islands Time Zone. (UTC/GMT +7) Davis Time Zone and Christmas Island Time Zone. (UTC/GMT +8 ) Australian Western Time Zone, Casey Time Zone. (UTC/GMT +8:45) Central Western Time Zone. (UTC/GMT +9:30) Australian Central Time Zone. (UTC/GMT +10:00) Australian Eastern Time Zone. (UTC/GMT +10:30) Lord Howe Time Zone. (UTC/GMT +11:30) Norfolk Time Zone.

The Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, South Australia, Tasmania and Victoria all start and end daylight saving time on the same dates. During periods of Daylight Saving Time clocks are advanced by one hour. As an example Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) which is UTC/GMT+10 is set ahead to UTC/GMT+11 and is then referred to as Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT).

The names in each time zone change along with Daylight Saving Time. Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) becomes Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT), and so forth. View Australia Daylight Saving Time for more details and a schedule of start and end dates.

Australia Time Zone Maps

Australia Time Zone Map Australia Daylight Saving Time Zone Map

Australian Capital
Territory Time
Victoria
Time
Tasmania
Time
Wednesday
10/22/2014
3:45 PM
UTC+11:00
Wednesday
10/22/2014
3:45 PM
UTC+11:00
Wednesday
10/22/2014
3:45 PM
UTC+11:00

New South
Wales Time
Queensland
Time
Northern
Territory Time
Wednesday
10/22/2014
3:45 PM
UTC+11:00
Wednesday
10/22/2014
2:45 PM
UTC+10:00
Wednesday
10/22/2014
2:15 PM
UTC+09:30

Western Australia
(Most)
Western Australia
(Eucla)
South
Australia Time
Wednesday
10/22/2014
12:45 PM
UTC+08:00
Wednesday
10/22/2014
1:30 PM
UTC+08:45
Wednesday
10/22/2014
3:15 PM
UTC+10:30

Australia Daylight Saving Time

View Australia Site Map and Directory

Current Local Time in Australia Capital Cities


All dates are shown in the format: month/day/year
Find an incorrect time or time zone? Please contact us.
www.TimeTemperature.com, Inc. is not responsible for any damages or problems caused by this service.
The information contained on this page is not authoritative and its use is subject to our Terms of Use.
We respect your privacy. You may view our privacy policy here
Site Copyright 2000 - 2014 www.timetemperature.com, Inc.